Writing resources

Hello everyone!!

How was the weekend? I hope you are all well today, the start of the week has been a rather difficult one so far, why are monday’s so exhausting? Ha!

Anyway, today I want to talk about resources for us authors and potential authors like me. I have been thinking about writing on my commute to work as there is enough time to write a whole chapter, time that I feel goes to waste as most of the time I dont do anything at all other than stare out into the open and get lost in thought.

So my question to all of you is, I have an ipad and would like to make the most of it, I have looked at various apps for writing but feel it would be a lot easier to get opinions before I go an purchase anything. So, has any of you used any writing apps? If so, which one would you recommend?

I hope you all have a great day and I look forward to seeing what you all say!

6 comments on “Writing resources

  1. I have Scrivener and I really like it, but I usually end up using plain ol’ Word for my novel. Scrivener is pretty fun and is great for organising your thoughts and such. I use pen and paper for my writing (I can’t think onscreen) and then I type it up afterwards. But I think that Scrivener is great for those of you who can think onscreen. It’s reasonably priced as well.

    • I just had a look at scrivener and theres no ipad app yet unfortunately. I dont really function that well either on a screen but its valuable time that is being wasted and I have been thinking of writing on the train for such a long time, I tend to be really creative in the train!! haha

      • I agree that the train is a great place to be creative. I wrote a huge part of the first draft of my novel on the train. I used a notebook and a pen, though. The only problem is that you have to be ok with people who are nosy and will look over your shoulder as you write. I thought that it would bother me at first, but then I pictured them reading my novel when it’s published and it made me feel better.

        I’m afraid my advice is very old-fashioned. 😀 Good luck with your search for the perfect outlet!

      • Well, at the moment I actually use the notes function to write everything and then send it to my email to incorporate into the original draft but I find it takes too long and too time consuming. I also notice people looking to see what I am writing but most of the time I am so into my own thing that it doesnt bother me at all. That is good advice though, your advice is not old fashioned, I wrote most of my first novel on a pad and then into a word document, it is difficult but it works!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

