Writing and it’s challenges

Hello everyone, how are you all doing today?

Today I want to talk about writing, it is a great thing to do, isn’t it?

But how about the times that we try and try and nothing comes out, worse when it lasts for days without a single break! I have personally attempted to deflect writers block by focusing on something interesting, it worked……for a while!

Have you got any interesting methods of getting rid of writers block? Share them with us! 🙂

19 comments on “Writing and it’s challenges

  1. Knock myself over the head with a two-by-four…..just kidding. Mostly like you say, stop thinking about writing or getting inspired, just throw yourself into something new and interesting and sometimes you will be jolted out of the endless loop of a blank page. But sometimes nothing works but time,,,,..

  2. For me, Writer’s Block is a good sign that maybe I need to walk away for a little bit. If it’s writers block that’s only a day, maybe you just need to get up and take a walk to think about ideas w/out the pressure of a piece of paper to write on. If it’s writers block over a long period of time, maybe you need to work on a new piece – I try to work on two pieces at once so that if I get a block with one, I have something to fall back on – and when I get stuck on both, I know i need a break 🙂

    • That’s true and let’s face it, for as much as we love writing we all need a break here and there! I just wish sometimes I didn’t allow the desire to write to override my desire to sit down and relax! Haha!! Thank you for the comment! 🙂

  3. I just write what happens next. I mean, something has to happen next. I don’t worry about making it something interesting or exciting or something that advances the plot. I just look at what I wrote last and I ask myself, well, what happens next?

    I just finished up a chapter about two of my characters talking to a commercial hardware salesman, because it was the logical next thing to happen, and while I was writing it I found myself going off on a tangent that illustrated one of my supporting character’s personality and background in a way that I couldn’t have planned.

    • It is amazing how sometimes when yo write, the book controls you and not the other way around, that is what I call writing! I love it when something happens and it leaves me speechless as if I was the reader and not the writer! Thank you for the comment! 🙂

  4. It is difficult to answer – I have so many stories ‘gathering dust’ in my computer ones that at the beginning I was craving to write – then blogging took hold of me and strangely I prefer to do that for the moment. You do need to walk away for a while, gather thoughts, and tackle when the urge asks you to. Forcing yourself – it will never occur. http://diannegray@wordpress.com.au is an Author of several books and her posts outline at times about blocks etc..maybe worth a follow? She writes a few at once- which could be difficult as you have to change mind set. Good Luck!

    • That has happened to me before, getting the feeling that you so badly want to write but when the day comes you end up leaving the story unfinished! This time I have tried really hard not to even allow myself to get distracted from what I am trying to achieve and it has been working so far! For me, it’s all about taking the time to think about everything carefully and always knowing what is supposed to happen, it keeps the story interesting for both parties! Than you for the comment! 🙂

  5. Sometimes, you just gotta push through it, keep writing and not worry about the quality of what ends up on the page. I think it was Nora Roberts who said that a blank page couldn’t be edited. Truth! So keep plugging along.

    I’ve also discovered that if the words aren’t coming, for me, there’s something structurally wrong with the story. That’s when I bounce ideas around with a CP, and usually I find that my instincts were correct. Once the change is made, I can keep plowing ahead.

    Good luck!

    • That is true, a blank page cannot be edited at all! I always do try to keep going, even if what comes out is of no quality at all, at least I have something I can work around and change, better than not having anything written down at all! Thank you for your comment 🙂 I hope you are having a great day!

      • I am – thank you! I hope the same for you as well.

        And, yes, you just have to keep going. The words will come, the story will take shape. You just gotta believe that. 🙂

  6. I listen to music that I feel captures the essence of my story or a particular scene I’m attempting to work on. I imagine the scene in my head, being played out like a movie with the music in the background. I have created a few different playlists specifically for when I sit down to write depending on the mood or scenario I want to get down.

Leave a Reply

