In The Early Morning

Good morning everyone, how are you all today?

This morning has been a productive one, its early I know but the ideas are flowing already πŸ™‚

Today I am asking another question to you all and want to get as many answers as possible and possibly start a discussion as well πŸ™‚

My question is: Once you have finished your book, if you want to have other people read it to spot mistakes and material missing, how many people should you choose and how many are too many?

Here is another lovely photo of a sunset a few months ago that took my breath away, I hope it inspires you all! πŸ™‚

Image

26 comments on “In The Early Morning

  1. I’m not writing a book, although I wish I could. But to answer your question, I’d say about 3. I wouldn’t want too many people reading it. The sunset is lovely btw. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your comment. I agree with you, 3 sounds like a good number of people. You definitely should write one, it is amazing to see it growing everyday :).

      Im glad you liked the photo πŸ™‚

  2. Er, depends. Finished as in first draft? No one, just me.
    Buried for a while, then finished as in read and revised? Probably no one again, but maybe one friend.
    Finished as in I can’t bear to go through this thing one more time and I think it is the best I can get it? About three, to start with. Then an agent and a publisher and the world.
    But I am showing first couple of chapters of a novel to followers of my blog to gauge reaction before sending to a publisher.
    So like I say, depends.

    • Oh Pat, that is a great answer. It is amazing to me how different we all do it, I myself will be handing copies of my book to 4 of my close friends as each of them is different and I also want to see the reaction. I like the way you do it, I may adopt that option once I begin my second novel πŸ™‚

  3. I also chose four people for my first book. Four have seen my second book, which is currently in the final edit stage. I learned a great deal from both experiences. Who to select is very important. The person should have an interest in the genre or at least be a frequent reader. Remember their comments are opinions. Accept those changes you feel in your heart. Let the others go. Best of luck with your book and thanks for sharing such wonderful photos.

    • Thank you for your comment! :). I agree with you, I have actually taken a slightly different strategy which may not work but I wont know until I try. I have chosen four people but made sure they all have different tastes in books, that way I will get an opinion from different perspectives which will to me be a great help. All the people I have picked are book worms like me so I am sure I will get good opinions :).
      Good luck with your book too, let us know when it comes out πŸ™‚ and I will keep the photos coming since you like them πŸ™‚

  4. Well, I hope to write a book one day. For my posts, I usually have my wife read them. She lets me know if I writing clear or not, and she catches typos. If I were to write a book, I agree that I would not let too many people read it, but I think I would choose *different* types of people. That might help me see my book in a different way. Good question, though, I had not thought of it before!

    • Well, that is what my strategy is at the moment, I am also choosing people with different interests in order to have an idea what the general public will think of my writing, that way I can change what needs to be changed πŸ™‚

      Thank you for your comment πŸ™‚

  5. I think you need a lot of people to read it. I would say about 10 friends or so? Preferably of different age. It may seem a lot but they’ll talk to their friends about your book and so… it’s good publicity aswell :).

    • Well, that could work but as long as you dont unintentionally have too many people knowing what your book is about and then not buying it, it is a risky move but maybe a good one depending on the circumstances. Thank you for your comment πŸ™‚

  6. Thank you for the follow and for liking my latest post. Re your sunset photo ,I can see a face smiling in the bright sunlight, beautiful !. I think that 4 people sounds about right. More than that and it can become a bit confusing. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

