Writing

How is this day going for all of you?

Today I had a little bit of an epiphany but it quickly turned into a question! What would happen if I decided to continue writing my book but exclude chapters, just have a storyline that divides itself into different sections? Then I also thought about how many chapters can a book have before it becomes a little bit too much for a reader to handle?

This was more than 2 hours ago, now I will just continue in my current structure and maybe who knows, the next book may be chapter(less)!

What do you guys think? Visit my page to find more content on this matter. http://on.fb.me/NLmEak

10 comments on “Writing

    • Now that I think of it, I have never seen a book that didnt have any chapters, never know, maybe I just came up with a new writing style! hehe 🙂

      Thank you for your comment 🙂

  1. Most people that read books lead busy lives. A book with chapters make it easier to read and digest. Frankly, a book with no place to stop might not get read.

  2. Personally, I think you should go with your gut on this. I don’t think the lack of chapters would stop me reading a book if I felt engaged in the story. If people are concerned with having not knowing where to pause, I would simply suggest a bookmark.

  3. Terry Pratchett doesn’t use chapters in his books, his argument is that “life doesn’t happen in chapters,”. Makes sense, i for one find it hard to write in chapters, i have to keep reminding myself to do it!

    • Thats interesting, I cant write without chapters as I find it a lot easier for myself to give the book structure but then again, it could work without chapters but it would take a very good planning session to write that book! 🙂

    • I also agree, in fact, I am not attracted to a book without chapters as I will always feel it lacks structure but I must say that the right book would work without chapters, the storyline does the “chapter” job well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

