Writer’s Block

Hi again, I’ve been a little quiet today I must say but it is all for a reason.

Today I am being affected by the famous “Writer’s Block”, oh dear, I know!

So, the best thing I can manage today is to ask: What can I do?! Every time I open the file and start typing, only nonsense comes out, and what a convenient time for it to happen too, exactly when I have more time than usual to actually jot down some paragraphs.

Anyway, its not the end of the world as I got my music playing and hopefully soon I will be cured!

Until then, let me know what your thoughts are about this and what have you done when this happened to you.

14 comments on “Writer’s Block

    • Thank you, I am trying and most of the time am able to act against it but today I just cant. I’m still trying though, hehe.

      What did you write if I may ask? πŸ™‚

      • What did I write now or then? I used to write a lot of poetry, *tried* writing novels; fiction, some fantasy, some dramatic…but I always got stuck on the novels and never got very far. During my two year downtime, I wrote a piece of flash fiction every once in a while, but never anything more than that. Now, I’m writing a novel, Halfling, which I have visions for and I know where it’s going. I’m not going to let myself get stuck this time. It’s a bit rough now because I only wrote two short pieces before starting on this, but now I’m finally finding my writing voice again. The second draft will polish up the beginning πŸ™‚

      • That is exactly what happened to me. I also started writing novels and other pieces many times and then never finished for one or other reason. Now I am also writing a novel which I have started a while ago but this time I am actually very far.

        This will be my first novel so I am hoping it will somehow inspire people in different ways.

        I would love to read some of your stuff! πŸ™‚

      • The new stuff is all on this blog, it doesn’t go back very far, so feel free! πŸ™‚

        I hope you’re able to finish what you’re working on. It seems endless when you’re in the middle of it and you don’t know where it’s going. For the first time ever, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel with this novel, and it’s very exciting. I’ve been trying to write 2-4,000 words a day πŸ˜€

      • I will surely take a look at what you write πŸ™‚

        Yeah, tell me about it, my only problem is that I dont always get the time to write, some of the time i am just thinking up ideas to then be sure to write something for the novel but when I do write I get a lot out of the way.

      • Really? I don’t think too horribly much about what to write. I know major events, but I mostly just let my fingers fly over the keyboard without consciously thinking much about what to write. It happens so organically that things just come together.

      • Well, i work like that too, just sometimes I need to do a little thinking before I write anything as I dont want any mistakes or anything that will cause any confusion to make my life easier when I go through the final product! hehe

  1. This is just my personal opinion, of course. There will be some people who disagree with me. I use an outline. It’s not a super detailed one necessarily, although certain parts of it is. I used to write completely off the cuff, never using one at all. At some point I realized I wasn’t getting anything finished. I’d get stuck somewhere, Not know where to go. For me, an outline fixes this problem. If you take the time to plan out your story, even if you don’t follow the outline to the letter (sometimes there are detours) it “should” still curb a lot of the writer’s block issues. I wrote this concerning writer’s block. http://wp.me/p2CI9Q-h
    Hope it helps you some.

    Drew
    amazon.com/author/drew merten

    • Thank you for your comment. I do agree with you Drew but I am writing in a completely different style, I am writing what I have already planned in my mind but changing it as I go along if needed. I dont usually get writers block but when I do get it it is bad. One of the main culprits is stress I think!

  2. You are spending too much time thinking on the problem. This stops creativity. Instead take a break doing something that you enjoy. A brief walk, focus on God with worship and praise and relax. Quit beating yourself and get the focus on something else. A short time (30 minutes) to rejuvenate and enjoy life. Anxiety stifles and kills the flow. Fear of failure brings failure. Know that a new perspective creates a place for your imagination. Come back to writing with a renewed mind. Relax and let novel come out of you! You can do it.

    • Thank you for your comment. I have to say, you are right. But the thing is, I am not beating myself over it, it happens to everyone and I know that I will get over it. Actually, I already have gotten over it, I am writing my novel again as we speak. But your ideas are great, the only problem is, I am at work so I cant exactly just walk out and go to the park, hahaha. Oh how I would love to do that every now and then πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

