This Writing Life: Novel Editing and Character Arcs

Interesting to know!

Not All Those Who Wander

After my break last week, it’s back to work, and for me that means back to editing a novel. Last time, I wrote about my initial read-through of the first draft, and the copious notes I was making. This time, I’m moving onto the nitty-gritty of making sure each individual element of the novel works – and how to fix the bits that don’t.

I’ve already looked at the plot arc of the novel, and ascertained that it more-or-less works (using a handy synopsis-making tool in Scrivener, which I may cover in a separate post). For this particular novel, I’ve found it more important to look carefully at my character arcs: I have five POV characters, and I want to do my best to make sure their growth throughout the novel is consistent and, hopefully, satisfying.

To do this, I’ve turned to spreadsheets. Not the most thrilling method in the…

View original post 285 more words

Leave a Reply

