A Writer’s Worst Nightmare

So, I’ve been writing my first novel for quite a while now, been writing on and off. Everything is going smoothly and the words are flowing nicely, there’s only one problem!

I cant seem to figure out what I am going to call it, dont know whether it is too soon to be thinking of names now or whether I should just wait until it is finished so I can think of a name around the content!

Decisions decisions, what to do! Does any of you have any suggestions on how I should be naming my novel?

Like my page on Facebook, click here!

21 comments on “A Writer’s Worst Nightmare

  1. I think you should just carry on writing and don’t worry about the title until one comes at you. Sometimes titles are one of the first things that pop into your mind and sometimes they play peek-a-boo and you just have to let them get bored of their game. Hope that helps.

  2. Don’t worry..the title will just kind of appear one day. I’ve just finished writing a book (it will be published in September) and the title was the least of my problems 🙂 Of course being a journalist I always have my title ready and fit the story to the title 🙂 🙂

    • Well, its my first novel so I just panicked a little bit but im sure I will think of something. I’ve set myself a deadline and its coming soon and thats why im panicking, hehe

  3. I agree with cpsingleton42, I’m sure you’ll just be driving in your car or doing something unrelated, then BOOM! It will just come crashing in out of nowhere lol.

  4. The title will flow out of you when it is time. Don’t worry or fret about it. As you complete your novel, it will come. Keep writing and enjoy the process!

  5. Sometimes I use free association to come up with titles. I am ironically trying to figure out the same thing! I have been calling mine “The Foreboding,” which feels right, but I can’t help wanting a double entendre title like most of my posts. There’s no rush!

    • Oh, its nice to see Im not alone then, hehe 🙂
      I have been trying to come up with a title based of what i’ve written so far, just so at least I have one that I can change in the future if it is required but it is a little complicated.
      Thank you for you comment Susie 🙂

  6. Believe me, there are many worse nightmares for a writer. For me, it was getting the book published then having it incomprehensibly trashed by a reviewer in the country’s foremost newspaper [The Australian].I couldn’t get out of bed for three days.

    • I have thought about it in that context and it seems right so its what I have been doing for a while. However, it would be nice to come up with even just a mock name, just so I can have something to go by if you know what I mean 🙂

Leave a Reply

