Being a Social Media Officer

A blog on being social...

Last month I was asked  by Dan Slee to write a guest blog for Comms2Point0 on Being a Social Media Officer in Local Government.  This was my post or you can find it on the Comms2Point0 blogsite

I’ve been working for Wiltshire Council for four years and out of uni for six. Since I signed up to MySpace and Facebook back in 2005 I’ve been intrigued by the power and potential of social networking. When I joined the communications team seven months ago as ‘social media officer’ I quickly noticed how few of ‘us’ there are in local government and how many councils are working hard to fit social media into their PR/Comms roles.

Here’s an outline of my day to day work and a few of the things we’ve been able to achieve having a dedicated social media officer:

I manage Wiltshire’s main social feeds daily; tweeting, re-tweeting, networking…

View original post 369 more words

Leave a Reply

