My Favorite Gadgets

Originally posted on Isabella Meyer:

Here’s a list of my favorite gadgets for summer 2012!

1) Mophie Juice Pack Air ($79)

20120719-104223.jpg

The Mophie Juice Pack Air basically doubles your battery life on your phone which I am always finding I need. My phone, especially as it gets older, runs out of battery pretty fast from my heavy usage so this is awesome. It’s sort of expensive, but all phone cases are getting really expensive these days. However, if you have an upgrade, I’d say wait until the iPhone 5 comes out in October so I’d wait to invest in a case until then.

2) Pivot Power Strip

20120719-121947.jpg

I love this power strip especially for apple products because the rotating strip helps fit in the boxiest of chargers.

3) Wrapster by Quirky

20120719-122418.jpg

This is a great way to store your headphones neatly without them getting tangled. It also doubles as an iPhone stand in the middle.

View original 52 more words

Social Media Lazyness!

Hi Guys, I am back with another post.

Today I will speak about all the people out there who are getting into the whole Social Media thing but want everything to be done their way.

Question is, when are people actually going to make an effort and make things happen rather than wait for something to happen which at the end of the day becomes something a lot smaller than it needs to be!

Have you had any similar experiences lately? Let us know

Image

Orion Nebula: The Hubble View

Originally posted on Milners Blog:


Very few cosmic spacescapes excite my imagination in a way that the Orion Nebula does, this recently published ‘super hi-res’ image from the Hubble telescope is pretty damn epic.

(click to enlarge)

Also known as M42, the nebula’s glowing gas surrounds hot young stars at the edge of an immense interstellar molecular cloud only 1,500 light-years away. The Orion Nebula offers one of the best opportunities to study how stars are born partly because it is the nearest large star-forming region, but also because the nebula’s energetic stars have blown away obscuring gas and dust clouds that would otherwise block our view – providing an intimate look at a range of ongoing stages of starbirth and evolution. This detailed image of the Orion Nebula is the sharpest ever, constructed using data from the Hubble Space Telescope’s Advanced Camera for Surveys and the European Southern Observatory’s La Silla 2.2 meter telescope. The…

View original 15 more words

Panspermia – The Origins of Life On Earth

Originally posted on The Sceptical Prophet:

So since the Higgs Boson thing, I haven’t really written much about science. I thought I’d do a quick one on panspermia to amend this little problem.

Of all the theories on how life on Earth originated (or to be more specific, how it accelerate at such a rate), panspermia stands out as the most likely (in my opinion).

We all know life evolved over billions of years (it’s estimated that the earliest forms of life existed on earth around 3 billion years ago, if I remember my astronomy course correctly), but there was a period of time where evolution was sped up beyond predicted levels, allowing multicellular lifeforms to evolve in a much shorter time than they would normally have needed. I feel lazy tonight so I’m going to do most of this off the top of my head. If there’s anything I’m a bit hazy on, I’ll say…

View original 1,011 more words

The iPad Mini – The iPad Enterprises Have Been Waiting for

Originally posted on :

Bigger ain’t always better. Ask anyone who’s watched the world’s greatest soccer player, the 5’7″ Lionel Messi. Or someone now regretting that they just snarfed down a Supersized meal.

Despite Steve Jobs’ public trashing of smaller-than-10-inch tablets, an iPad Mini seems, based on the history of Apple rumors and my own reporting, to be not only inevitable, but a likely hit, too, especially with big businesses.

(Here’s my ‘reporting,’ by the way: the driver who took me to the San Francisco Airport a few weeks ago told me his previous passenger was an Apple executive who told him – and this was before the Wall Street Journal and Bloomberg articles came out – that an iPad Mini was definitely coming. By the way, the driver’s wife works at Google. Only in Silicon Valley…)

As we’ve all had beaten into our skulls by now, form factor is key with mobile devices…

View original 586 more words

The Tesco man

Originally posted on opinioned:

Both my parents work long hours, my step-father in particular. My mother, also, rarely finds time to go to Tesco to do the weekly food shop. In the case where she finds half an hour spare, she does her food online and it gets delivered to our doorstep, a handy process.

I, myself, am working long hours this summer too to pay for university next year (if you’ve read my previous blog posts you will know about this). Due to working long hours I rarely get a day off. Today is my day off, and I volunteered to collect the shopping from the Tesco delivery man after having myself a well deserved lazy morning in bed.

So there I was, collecting the shopping about half an hour ago. Usually the man delivering the shopping is quite talkative but today he seemed quiet, he was thinking about something – and then…

View original 449 more words

Going to the Moon

Originally posted on The Centre of the World:

I think we’re going to the moon because it’s in the nature of the human being to face challenges. It’s by the nature of his deep inner soul…

Thames Cable Car, North Greenwich, Greenwich, SE10

We’re required to do these things just as salmon swim upstream.

Neil Armstrong at Apollo mission press conference, quoted in Of a Fire on the Moon (1970) by Norman Mailer

View original

the world’s biggest eye?

Originally posted on hello future:

Articles that begin with the question “did you know?” usually turn out to be pretty dull. Not so here (we hope).

So here it goes. Did you know that Wrexham – like that fictional hero Captain James T Kirk –  is helping man boldly go where no-one has gone before?

Scientists at Glyndwr University are developing prototype mirror segments for the aptly named European Extremely Large Telescope (it will be extremely large).

The university has a wealth of expertise in “ultra-precision polishing and highly complex optical metrology.”

And here’s the exciting bit. Last month the European Southern Observatory (ESO) confirmed that the “world’s biggest eye on the sky” will be built on Mount Cerro Armazones in Chile.

So it looks like this is really going to happen. Wrexham will play its part in unlocking the secrets of the universe. How amazing is that?

ESO scientists hope the telescope will help us track down earth-like planets where life…

View original 74 more words